passivity

Anyone else felt waylaid by their knitting and then suddenly caught by the bug?

I’ve been resolutely ignoring my knitting and all things crafty for weeks, then discovered a few websites and bam! I guess I’d gotten a bit bored following patterns. All my projects involve a little freestyling right now. A drummer friend of mine recently bought himself a shiny new kit so I’m knitting him a glittery silver tie to go with it for his birthday. I’m just making it up as I go along with some crochet thread, stocking stitch and some 3.25mm needles. I promise pictures as soon as its done.

And having seen Kim Hargreaves’s new website I’m making up my own summer jacket. I’d been a bit stumped with the 13 skeins 13 skeins! – of Rowan Summer Tweed that I’d bought myself 2 or 3 years ago and was a bit inspired by what she’d managed to do with it. I’m going to try knitting up a little sixties box jacket, but as I’m short-waisted its going to have to sit a little higher than a commercially-bought one would. Its got a kick pleat in the back and a little shaping at the waist, but its relatively boxy. I might have to consider some shaping in the front panels to avoid it hanging from my bust and making me look pregnant. I’m a bit confused as to how I can do that, but in the spirit of adventure I’m going to give it a go anyway.

Things are so much more exciting when you throw away the instructions! I’ve been very excited by the top-down raglan ideas on Ysolda’s website, that will have to be my next pattern. I wonder if you can knit a set-in sleeve from the top down?

One comment

  1. I totally know what you mean about being waylaid by your knitting — I feel that way often. (I think it’s kinda a good thing — it’s like a chance to let ideas percolate for a while & then to come up with something completely new…)

    Love your sweater (jumper) in the previous post! Beautiful color!


Leave a Reply

